members, appointed by the Governor in Council, and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance. The Board makes loans to municipalities to assist in the construction of additional municipal capital projects, providing increased employment. In four provinces, by agreement, the Board makes these loans to the province, which makes similar loans to its municipalities.

National Battlefields Commission.—This Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1908 to preserve the historic battlefields at Quebec City. The Commission is composed of nine members, seven appointed by the Federal Government and one each by the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec. The Commission is supported by annual appropriations of the Federal Government and is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources.

National Capital Commission.—This Commission is a Crown agency created by the National Capital Act (SC 1958, c. 37), proclaimed Feb. 6, 1959. It is the lineal descendant of the Federal District Commission. The Commission is served by a full-time paid chairman and comprises a total of 20 members representative of the ten provinces of Canada. There is a staff of seven officials reporting to a general manager, and a work force that fluctuates between 500 and 700, depending on the season.

Co-ordination and development of public lands in the National Capital Region are undertaken by direct planning and construction by the Commission's staff; by co-operation with municipalities; by provision of planning aid or financial assistance in municipal projects; and by advising the Department of Public Works on the siting and appearance of all Federal Government buildings in the 1,800-sq. mile National Capital Region. The Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Public Works,

National Gallery of Canada.—The beginnings of the National Gallery of Canada are associated with the founding of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts in 1880. The Marquis of Lorne, then Governor General, had recommended and assisted the founding of the Academy. One of the three tasks he assigned to that institution was the establishment of a National Gallery at the seat of government. By Act of Parliament in 1913, re-enacted in 1951, the National Gallery was placed under the management of a Board of Trustees appointed by the Governor General in Council and now operates under the National Gallery Act (RSC 1952, c. 186). It is responsible to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

The first charge of the National Gallery is the development, care and display of the national art collections. Its services to the public include a large reference library on the history of art and related subjects; an Exhibition Extension Branch through which travelling exhibitions, lectures and the showing of art films, and guided tours of the Gallery at Ottawa are conducted; the production of art publications and reproductions; and a National Conservation Research Laboratory.

National Harbours Board.—The Board was established by Act of Parliament in 1936. It is responsible for the administration of port facilities at the harbours of St. John's, Nfld.; Halifax, N.S.; Saint John, N.B.; Chicoutimi, Quebec, Trois-Rivières and Montreal. Que.; Vancouver, B.C.; and Churchill, Man.; the Jacques Cartier and Champlain Bridges at Montreal, Que.; and the grain elevators at Prescott and Port Colborne, Ont. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

National Research Council.—This is an agency of the Canadian Government established in 1916 to promote scientific and industrial research. The Council operates science and engineering laboratories in Ottawa, Halifax and Saskatoon; gives direct financial support to research carried out in Canadian university and industrial laboratories; sponsors Associate Committees co-ordinating research on specific problems of national interest; and develops and maintains the nation's primary physical standards. Other activities include the provision of free technical information to manufacturing concerns; the publication of research journals; and representation of Canada in International Scientific Unions. The Council also has the duty of advising the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research on questions of scientific and technological methods affecting the expansion of Canadian industries or the utilization of the country's natural resources. Patentable inventions developed in the Council's laboratories are made available for manufacture through a subsidiary company, Canadian Patents and Development Limited (see p. 133). The National Research Council consists of a president, three vice presidents, and 17 members representing Canadian universities, industry and labour. The Council is incorporated under the Research Council Act (RSC 1952, c. 239, as amended), and reports to Parliament through the Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research (at present the Minister of Industry).